LOS HYPKI

Church Planting among the Nahuatl

On our first Thanksgiving away from home…

Leave a comment

I was thinking about 1 Thessalonians 5:18 this morning, which says, “Give thanks in everything” – a fitting verse for today.  What stuck out to me, though, was that it says we’re to be thankful in everything.  Liesl and I may be 1700 miles from home, we may miss our families, we may miss delicious home-cooked foods and recipes, and it may not even feel like Thanksgiving to us because it’s 75 degrees here today – But the Word asserts we’re to be thankful in everything.  As we thought about that together this morning, we remembered how many things we truly do have to be thankful for:  The relationships He has given us here, the home He has given us, the church body we’re a part of, His overwhelming faithfulness, and of course, your constant support, encouragement, prayers, friendship, and fellowship in Christ.

First Thessalonians 5:18  ends in an interesting way.  After telling us to “give thanks in everything,” it asserts that “This is God’s will for us in Christ Jesus.”  How often do I wonder what the Lord’s will is for my life?  And yet here, it tells me clearly and concisely to give thanks in everything, because giving thanks is His will for me.  He desires that I be thankful, maybe because He wants me to realize that all the big things in life I could want or be thankful for – life, peace, sufficiency, contentedness – I already have in Him.

So, in short, Liesl and I just wanted to say that we hope you enjoy today, we hope you are thankful today, and we hope you find yourself in the middle of His will as you do so.

Have a blessed Thanksgiving.

Pete & Liesl

 

p.s.  This is from an email I sent to our Core Prayer Group this morning.  If you’d like to be added to that mailing list, you can email me at peter_hypki@ntm.org

Author: Liesl Hypki

We are a young couple living in remote Mexico to reach the Nahuatl people for Christ.

Leave a Reply

