LOS HYPKI

Church Planting among the Nahuatl

Summertime is coming to an end

Leave a comment

As much as we all don’t want to admit it we are bordering on the end of summer, and school will be starting in a few weeks. Before we know it the leaves will be falling off the trees, at least in some places, and the cool weather will be pushing it’s way to center stage. Don’t get me wrong, I love fall! In fact, it almost takes first place in my ranking of the seasons, but summer still reigns supreme, as I just love the sun too much.

Pete and I have been keeping busy, August has been full of more travel, and time spent with family, friends, and our ministry partners.

A night out at the Blue Spoon with Liesl's parents

A night out at the Blue Spoon with Liesl's parents

Friends mingling at our partnership picnic hosted by the Hypkis

Friends mingling at our partnership picnic hosted by the Hypkis

Pete preaching at Crosswalk Church in Waukesha, WI

Pete preaching at Crosswalk Church in Waukesha, WI

Though this summer has been a busy time, and even stressful at moments the Lord has not ceased to speak into my life. I praise Him for this! For His faithfulness to make Himself real to me in all parts of my day, even when I may not be aggressively seeking Him, or even desiring Him and the relationship He wants to have with me.

Some of you know, I’ve been doing my best to train for another race while we have been traveling and sharing. It has been difficult, and sometimes it seems like there is just not enough hours in the day. My body has been physically exhausted on several occasions and I have craved nourishment from food in a way I have never before. One Friday morning a couple weeks ago I ran 10 miles. Even though I had eaten peanut butter toast and a banana before I left I was so hungry at the end of my run I was ready to naw off my arm. So I ran up the stairs to our apartment and ate breakfast #2! Then I proceeded to eat…all day long…seriously…I just could not get enough food!

As I began to think about this, how I would feed my body, and then a couple hours later it would let me know that I needed more and I’d feed it again…more and more and more. I was convicted. This should be how my relationship is with my heavenly Father. I feed myself with His Word first thing in the morning, taking time to listen to His voice and write down some of the things He’s teaching me. But then, I close the cover of my Bible and I go into “auto” mode. I go through the responsibilities and “to dos” of my day, and even though at times my spirit may be letting me know that it is craving more of God, I often ignore it. How can I ignore such a vital need?  It is so easy to think we are done feeding our bodies spiritually after our quiet time with the Lord, but in reality we should never be done feeding ourselves spiritually. We should be taking the time to listen and be sensitive to the Holy Spirit in our lives directing us towards times of spiritual nourishment in prayer, encouragement, worship throughout our day, nor matter what we are doing.

I have realized that just as I make fueling my body with food a priority, so I need to be more conscious of a constant fueling of Christ in my life through the Holy Spirit. He craves fellowship with me, so what more motivation do I need than the glorious invite from Him personally into deeper relationship.

Hope this encourages you in some way today, and for those of you who have been asking, staying tuned for a list of our practical needs for Mexico that will be posted on the blog tonight!! Thanks for reading!

Author: Liesl Hypki

We are a young couple living in remote Mexico to reach the Nahuatl people for Christ.

Leave a Reply

