LOS HYPKI

Church Planting among the Nahuatl

A Move & A Marathon

3 Comments

Hi everyone!  My goodness, it’s been a long time since I’ve posted! I hate when I procrastinate this long because then there is so much to post about and I honestly don’t know where to begin or end.

May was a super busy month for us, you will get to read more about that in our prayer letter that comes out next week! We finished up our missions training, said goodbye to friends who had become family, packed up all of our belongings, and headed into the next phase of life in preparation for missionary service in Mexico.

We arrived back in Baraboo, Wisconsin late Friday night, May 22nd. Baraboo will be the place we call home for the next 6 months or there about. We are excited to be here and visit with many friends, family, and prayer and financial partners while we are here. You all have encouraged us so much throughout our training journey, and we hope to encourage you this summer and fall in sharing how God has answered prayer and continues to lead us into missionary work.

First things first, we had to get our small studio apartment ready for us to move in. There were a few last minute painting projects, a little carpet laying, and alot of cleaning! Saturday we spent most of the day working like crazy on it, and got alot done. Thanks to our friend Ryan for helping bring up all the heavy furniture and other boxes, it would have take us forever without you. We were both exhausted, but had to get to bed early anyways because I was running in my half marathon in Madison on Sunday morning and the race start was at 7am!

Unpacking the kitchen

Unpacking the kitchen

View of the kitchen from the bathroom door way...through the other door way is our bedroom/living room area

View of the kitchen from the bathroom door way...through the other door way is our bedroom/living room area

Another view of the kitchen leading into the bedroom/living room

Another view of the kitchen leading into the bedroom/living room

The unpacking continues...and we have a fabulous view of the river out our patio window

The unpacking continues...and we have a fabulous view of the river out our patio window

Our relaxing space

Our relaxing space

So Sunday morning came…early, 4:30am is when I rolled out of bed. I headed right upstairs (we slept at my parents last night, not everything was unpacked in our place) and I made some coffee. Got dressed for the race, made some pre-race food and Pete, Mom, Dad, and I piled into the car to head to Madison for the marathon, half, and quarter races. I have been training for this half marathon for 10 weeks, and things have been great! So I was really looking forward to the morning. The family dropped me off at the start and headed to Starbucks for coffee, and the boys napped in the car while Mom read…and I was running. 🙂

My goal was to finish the 13.1 miles in 1hr. 55min, which would be a 4 minute improvement on my last half marathon time. Another goal was for me to start out slow, pacing myself for the first couple of miles because I always go out too fast in a race, I think it’s too much adrenaline and all the other racers passing me, but I vowed I would not do that this time. I held a good 8:30min/mile pace for the first 3 miles and felt great so I began to push my pace a bit. By about mile 6 I passed the pace team that was scheduled to finish the race in 1hr. 50min. and I managed to stay ahead of them pushing through each mile to finish the half marathon in 1hr. 49min. 32sec!! I was so happy with my time! In fact, I came in so fast that Pete and my parents were not even ready with the cameras and missed a shot of me finishing!! Oh well, we got some other good shots after I recovered with a water and some pretzels. This was the best I have felt during or after a race, I must be improving, which makes all the hard work and effort worth it.

Right after the race

Right after the race

I may have had a bit of a runners high...

I may have had a bit of a runners high...

I insisted on taking a handstand picture in the parking lot...gymnast at heart

I insisted on taking a handstand picture in the parking lot...gymnast at heart

After the race, Dad treated us to brunch at the Blue Spoon in Middleton. The food was fabulous, and the company even better, I love being with family and have missed them so much! I feasted on a spicy egg scramble with black beans, tons of veggies and chipotle cheddar cheese! Fruit and wheat toast rounded out the meal, yummy!! We then went across the street to the gardening place and picked out some herbs, I love fresh herbs for cooking and thanks to Mom now I have my own!! YAH!

When we got home, I wanted to take a nap, but instead we came over to the apartment and worked some more…I was exhausted by 6:00pm…and wanted to fall over. Great day though! However, next Sunday I am really looking forward to being back at Walnut Hill Bible Church and seeing our wonderful church family.

This week has been filled with unpacking, settling in, planning our summer calendar, and even babysitting.

My nephew Paxton that spent the day at our place yesterday

My nephew Paxton that spent the day at our place yesterday

It’s been a busy one, but has also been an opportunity for God to teach me some serious things about redeeming the time. I don’t know how many more days I have on this earth to serve Him, or how many more opportunities I will have to tell someone about God’s saving grace for them, I cannot and will not waste a moment! Each moment is a precious gift and God wants to use me to glorify Himself through my life, and He gives me His Holy Spirit to guide me in that. It is not by my own strength, but through Him that I am anything of worth, and I am daily in awe of His love for me.

So I’m off, not to waste another moment, but to allow the Lord to work in me His mighty, awesome, and incredible will. Another update to come again…much sooner than this one!

Author: Liesl Hypki

We are a young couple living in remote Mexico to reach the Nahuatl people for Christ.

3 thoughts on “A Move & A Marathon

  1. Liesl – you look amazing! Hooray for you in taking on the marathon…you inspire me 🙂
    We are in the moving stages too, just closed on our house yesterday!!!!

    Hope all goes well up in Baraboo!

  2. Nice job, Liesl! Hey what happened to the Ling practicum??

  3. Your place looks so cute!! Great job on the marathon!

Leave a Reply

