LOS HYPKI

Church Planting among the Nahuatl

The Race Set before Us

Leave a comment

Good morning everyone!

It’s sunny today, and that makes me really excited, mostly just because I love sun. That’s not to say that it is warm out though…we have been having some, need  I say, depressing weather here in Missouri that last day or two. It is actually in the 30s right now outside and it snowed during my 5 mile run yesterday! Crazy, this kind of stuff only happens during a Wisconsin April!!

Anyways, thought I would tell you all about my current adventure. Along with working on our Partnership Development for our missionary work and getting ready to come home to Wisconsin for the summer, I’m also training for my 3rd Half Marathon race. It will be held in Madison, WI on May 24th, which is about 3 days after we move home. Running has been a hobby of mine for about about 4 years now, something I do not only to stay healthy, but because I actually like it.

This week is my 4th week into my 10week training program, and having done two other half marathons I have to say this time I have felt the best in my training so far. Tuesdays are one of my favorite days for training because I go to the local track at the middle school and run what is called a speed or tempo workout. After these workouts my legs usually feel like jello and I feel tired, which means that I worked really hard and I love that feeling. I also feel like I have accomplished something- that I have met one small goal on the path to the main goal, completing the race.

Liesl right before her first Half Marathon last May in Madison

Liesl right before her first Half Marathon last May in Madison

This reminds me of Hebrews 12:1-2:

” Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumberance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfector of our faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.”

This has been something God has been teaching me through running…and through my personal time with Him. He’s given us a race, life, a path to walk, or run on, and He says keep your eyes on me. I have created you and given you the ability to live faithfully and I will finish the work I have started in you.

As we go through the challenges we are facing in our misionary race right now, packing and moving, paperwork & check lists for the field, raising financial support…it all seems so hard, like there is so much to do, and sometimes some of it seems impossible. But God says keep your eyes on me, exercise your faith in me, have I not begun a work in you that I have promised to complete? Have I not asked you to run this race that I will make sure that you finish?

 Just as in my speed workouts or any run that I take, it seems hard, I want to stop sometimes and just walk, or go home, but when I look up away from my distractions and finish that one run, I feel so good. I know I have completed one small goal leading to the finishing of the race.

Look to Him today!

Finishing my second half marathon in Springfield, MO

Finishing my second half marathon in Springfield, MO

Author: Liesl Hypki

We are a young couple living in remote Mexico to reach the Nahuatl people for Christ.

Leave a Reply

