LOS HYPKI

Church Planting among the Nahuatl

An Invitation to Intimacy

2 Comments

“Call to me and I will answer you and tell you great and unsearchable things you do not know” Jeremiah 33:3

So, just last week, Thursday actually, I started going through a study on prayer. Prayer is one of those aspects of walking with God that I love, but I don’t think I completely get it at the same time. Prayer has this kind of mystery wrapped around it for me, like a something you peel that always has another layer once you take the present layer off. Now, I’m not complaining, I love mystery and surprises and I love that God keeps things new and fresh in prayer for us.

To start the study I read a few scripture passages, Jeremiah 29:11-4, Romans 8:14-17, and Revelation 3:14-22. In the process of reading these I was challenged about God’s desire for fellowship with us, and how God’s desire is that we would have an intimate relationship with Him. What is more intimate than prayer? And really, could God be inviting us to pray? Could prayer be God’s invitation to a deeper walk with Him? I believe the answer is yes. God knows us. We are His children, and He promises throughout scripture that when we pray He WILL listen. He says when we seek His face in prayer we WILL find Him, and we WILL experience a deep understanding of the meaning of His adoption of us as His very own.

It is not our prayer which moves God, it is God that moves us to pray. He knocks on our heart’s door each and every day, even moment, and by doing so makes known His desire to have this deep relationship with us.  God truly receives pleasure from our wanting to be with Him. In Rev. 8:3,4 it talks about our prayers being a sweet offering to the throne of grace, an offering the Lord waits patiently for as we grow in our understanding and knowledge of what it means to be with Him, and receive from Him.

When I think of people that understood prayer in the Bible, the main one that comes to mind is Daniel. His delight was constantly in the Lord. It did not matter what the law was telling him to do, or what his schedule may have been for the day, nothing kept him from his intimate relationship with the Lord. And yes, the Lord blessed Daniel, and I know that He wants to bless me and He does, and it blows me away every time. But there’s more, more relationship, more blessing, more glory to the Lord to be had! This prayer life never gets old, I never get to the “last level” of being a good pray-er, there is constantly more of God to know, and He invites me constantly into prayer to know Him and to bring Him glory as I communicate so intimately with Him.

As I end this post, I thought I would include some pictures of the serenity of campus. Usually at least once or twice a week I try to walk by the lake at least for a bit and spend some time beckoning the Lord in prayer in the glory of His creation.

Peacefully still

Peacefully still

A blossoming tree outside the Linguistics classroom building

A blossoming tree outside the Linguistics classroom building

The sun glistening on the water out from the point

The sun glistening on the water out from the point

Author: Liesl Hypki

We are a young couple living in remote Mexico to reach the Nahuatl people for Christ.

2 thoughts on “An Invitation to Intimacy

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

  2. Hey,

    I am getting to know all your New Tribes friends that work with me at Starbucks. Noticed your 2 recipes are things we sell there. How ironic. Amanda misses you and gymnastics but is training to pole vault in track. Her dance team went to state with 2 routines and did very well. We have been deep in prayer this week because Amanda’s best friend’s mom died unexpectedly of a brain aneurism. She has 3 great kids so we are so sad. Have a blessed Easter. Miss you!

Leave a Reply

