LOS HYPKI

Church Planting among the Nahuatl

Existing for His Glory

1 Comment

Our blog has been in need of a new post for some time. I have been gone three of the past 4 weekends judging at various gymnastics competitions, so my weeks have been catch up time on all of the “to dos” that pile up when I’m gone.

The Lord has been teaching me some incredible things as I have spent time in Romans for the past several weeks. This morning  I settled into our cozy IKEA chair with a steaming cup of coffee and turned the pages of my Bible to Romans 11. Reading chapters 9-11 I am amazed at the Lord’s love and mercy for the Jewish people even though they rejected Him over and over throughout history. God’s plan for mankind is so amazing indeed, for because of this rejection salvation was offered to all. But, with all the rejection that God has endured from His people He still desires for them to come to Him more than anything. He wants them, He craves fellowship with them.

This concept is often hard for me to grasp, the concept that God craves me. I know, that sounds kind of strange, but God truly does desire and crave a true relationship with me that consists of me communicating with Him. A relationship of me walking day in and day out with Him. He craves my voice talking to Him throughout the day, He craves me worshipping Him when Iam amazed at His creation, and He craves me sharing with others about Him because I am so excited about my relationship with Him.

I don’t know about you, but sometimes I just crave things…chocolate, probably number #1, peanut butter, apples, fresh vegies, water, cookies…not that I want to give you a list of my favorite foods, but I think you get the idea. I know that when I crave something there’s not much I can do to get over the craving except to have a little of whatever it is I’m craving.

A little honesty here, I’m not a super-christian, most of you are completely aware of that…but I do crave God. Not all the time, sometimes I allow myself to get to busy for Him, but at the end of the day I sit down and reflect and realize I am craving Him because I’ve pushed Him out of my day. I love my time with God in the morning, and I love talking to Him throughout the day, when I don’t….something…He is missing. I know that He is glorified when my relationship with Him is active and vibrant, when I am walking with Him daily, and this is what He desires of me.

Just to finish off my thoughts, I’ll close with Rom. 11:36, Paul wrote a great verse here to sum up God’s greatness and it is a good reminder to me as I go throughout my day, to include the Lord and walk with Him.

“For everything comes from Him, and exists by His power, and is intended for His glory. All glory to Him forever.”

So…the other day, I was craving biscotti…I know, it’s kind of weird, but I really love biscotti. They are sweet, but not too sweet and tasty and delicious dunked in a cup of coffee or tea. Plus they are lower fat and healthier than most cookies. So, I made some, and wanted to share the recipe and a few pictures with you. Enjoy!!

Chocolate Hazelnut Biscotti

1 cup whole hazelnuts (toasted)

1.5 cups all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (I used Hersheys Dark)

1 Tbsp. instant espresso powder (I used some instant coffee granules I had)

1/2 tsp. baking soda

3/4 tsp. baking powder

4 large eggs

1 cup sugar

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spread hazelnuts on baking sheet and toast about 10 minutes, until lightly browned. If hazelnuts are not blanched, toast them until the skins begin to crack, then remove them from oven and wrap them in clean linen or cotton towel (not terrycloth). Rub the hazelnuts to remove most of the skin. Set toasted nuts aside.

2. Sift the flour, cocoa, espresso powder,  baking soda, and baking powder together and set aside.

3. Beat eggs lightly, just until blended, in mixing bowl with whisk or in electric mixer. Remove two tablespoons of egg mixture to small dish and set aside. Beat sugar into remaining eggs until blended. Stir in flour mixture to form soft dough.

4. Divide the dough in half and place one portion on a well-floured work surface. (Use lots of flour, this dough is quite sticky)  With floured hands, pat it into a six-inch square. Scatter half the hazelnuts on the dough and press them into the surface. Roll the dough into a cylinder about 2 inches in diameter and 12 to 15 inches long. Line the baking sheet with parchment paper and place the roll of dough on the baking sheet. Repeat with the remaining dough. Brush the tops of both rolls with the reserved egg.

5. Place in the oven and bake about 15 minutes, until firm to the touch. (This took me until 20 to 25 minutes.) Transfer to a cutting board and cut on an angle into slices one-half-inch thick. (I found that letting them cool for five minutes made this easier, as well as a sharp knife with a tight serrate.) Return the slices to the baking sheet, laying them on their cut sides, and return them to the oven. Bake another 20 minutes, until they are crisp and dry. Allow to cool completely before storing or serving.

sv500070

sv500073

sv5000771

Finished product! Not the best picture, but these were quite delicious. You could use any type of nuts that you have, I happened to have some hazelnuts and I really like their distinct flavor.

Finished product! Not the best picture, but these were quite delicious. You could use any type of nuts that you have, I happened to have some hazelnuts and I really like their distinct flavor.

Author: Liesl Hypki

We are a young couple living in remote Mexico to reach the Nahuatl people for Christ.

One thought on “Existing for His Glory

  1. Great thoughts Liesl! Thanks for sharing them, and thanks for the delicious looking recipe 🙂 Miss you!

Leave a Reply

