LOS HYPKI

Church Planting among the Nahuatl

Famous people and a glimpse of heaven

Leave a comment

Two weekends ago I traveled to Springfield, MO to judge at the gymnastics competition of the Missouri Winter Games. The competition was Friday-Sunday with all age groups and levels of womens and mens gymnasts competing. It was an honor to be asked to judge and I enjoyed my fellowship time talking with the other judges throughout the weekend as well. I was able to meet judges from Arkansas and Oklahoma, which is always a fun experience.

But I must say, probably the most exciting part of the weekend, for me, as well as for all the gymnasts participating was the appearance of Nastia Lukin, the 2008 Olympic Gymnastics All Around Champion. She came in to Springfield and did a short exhibition with dance and tumbling, spoke a few words to the crowd, and handled about an hour and a half of autographs and pictures. Being judges we were able to have a quick personal picture time with her “I got to put my arm around her” and I think I told her that her dance was beautiful or something like that. Then she signed the pictures with a gorgeous silver pen, and they were given to us as memories of the weekend. How cool is that?!

When I got home Sunday evening, I was looking at the picture as I showed it to Pete and thinking about the whole experience, and it just struck me, how much more amazing it will be when I get to heaven and get to see Jesus. I have no idea right now what that’s going to look like or whether or not I’ll be able to put my arm around Him, but I sure hope so. From what I know of Jesus, his love and grace I’m pretty sure He will want to spend time with me, and that He might think it was funny if I asked for a picture with Him or an autograph. In fact, I don’t know what He would say, but I hope He might say something like “your life was my autograph for all of those you spend time with and showed my love.”

No matter what heaven is like, I know this was a reminder to me of the greater things I have to look forward to. The eternal life with my Lord, the eternal worship, and a new glorified body without pain, sickness, or heartache. Oh, the glorious things He has promised, these are the things I get excited about!

Most of my pictures of Nastia turned out a little blury because they were taken during her dance exhibition. But here's one that's not too bad.

Most of my pictures of Nastia turned out a little blury because they were taken during her dance exhibition. But here's one that's not too bad.

This was during our individual photo session with Nastia, which was really cool by the way.

This was during our individual photo session with Nastia, which was really cool by the way.

Author: Liesl Hypki

We are a young couple living in remote Mexico to reach the Nahuatl people for Christ.

Leave a Reply

