LOS HYPKI

Church Planting among the Nahuatl

Linguistics, contentment, and…chocolate

1 Comment

So, when Pete saw that I had posted a picture of muffins on our blog he was a little jealous. To compromise I decided to talk a little about what he has been doing in the last few weeeks of the Linguistics course.

sv500044

All of the students just finished completing a two week long problem focusing on the Mazateco language. This is a tribal language originating from the country of Mexico. The problem had many facets of interpretation, analysis, and all sorts of other word processes that I cannot not name, pronounce, or even begin to understand. πŸ™‚ After these steps were finished Pete and the other linguistics students were required to do a 23 page write up on the Mazateco language, their findings and patterns studied within the language, and their theories about the conclusions that they have come up with in studying it. It all sounds quite difficult to me (Liesl), but I know God gifts us all in different areas and analyizing languages just may not be one of my gifts.

In fact I am content in that. I am content in the fact that right now the Lord has me serving at home…and I have time to bake treats for Pete’s linguistics class which they also enjoy. But the concept of staying content has always puzzled me, how do we stay content when we are adventurous, outgoing, always on the move and feel like God always has something bigger and better for us?…right now, by the way…

From my time spent with Jesus, I have come to realize that my contentment can only be found in my relationship with Him. If I am walking with Him, I am content. For the logical mind out there (admit it…I’m a 100% logic person) :

Walking with God everyday/all day = Contentment…no matter what

If I am walking with the Lord I always have a heart to receive and a heart to give. If I am walking with the Lord my joy flows abundantly even though I’m doing the most minimal things. Walking with the Lord keeps me wanting more of Him, no matter how much I read His Word, or meditate and write down the things He’s teaching me, walking with Him makes me realize how much I still do not grasp of who He is to me.

This is why I can be content as I walk over to the sink to do the dishes after this post is completed. Knowing that God’s purpose for me right now is to serve my family by cleaning up the kitchen. I by no means am perfect, and no, I have not even begun to grasp at the truth of what it means to walk daily with Jesus, but…I do know that I am content because I know I’m where He wants me, and I’m doing what He wants me to be doing at this particular time in my life.

I mean…heaven forbid…if I was trying to analyze languages I know for sure I would be stressing out, which would in turn cause me to eat chocolate. Which of course is not a bad thing, but I love chocolate…and would probably eat alot of it…

sv500046

Author: Liesl Hypki

We are a young couple living in remote Mexico to reach the Nahuatl people for Christ.

One thought on “Linguistics, contentment, and…chocolate

  1. this is good liesl! πŸ™‚ iknow how you feel even here in Haiti… sometimes you still get the “grass is greener SOMEWHERE and why aren’t I there yet” feeling…! i read this good quote from amy carmichael and she said that all discouragment is of the devil. amen! i know what i start to feel that discontentment i can just start thanking God for all His blessings and my opportunities that He has given me NOW and the feelings are gone faster than they came…! πŸ™‚ God bless you and your fam/Pete! God has a good plan for you both! love ya and ttyl…

Leave a Reply

