LOS HYPKI

Church Planting among the Nahuatl

A lazy Saturday morning

3 Comments

As I check my facebook this morning, it is evident by alot of your status updates that it is inevitably snowing in Wisconsin or did snow quite recently. It seems that you are all shoveling, or building snowmen, or trying to get places on nasty roads, or just escaping it all with a steaming hot cup of coffee and who knows…maybe a sweet treat.

When we woke up this morning in Missouri, there was a slight dusting of snow on the roof of the buildings around campus, but it has quickly melted with the gorgeous sunshine. It has been a busy week, and one of my new hobbies has become finding and experimenting with new and healthy recipes. I had discovered one for Apple Bran Muffins a few days ago and was dying to try it this morning.

I have to say the finished product was fantastic! And they are low in calories and fat so you don’t feel guilty if you eat two. Paired with a mug of steaming coffee, and maybe a little yogurt and fruit on the side made for a fabulous Saturday breakfast. As I enjoyed the provision of hot coffee and muffins I also enjoyed some time with my Jesus, and laughed to myself as I reflected on something a friend recently said to me…” I could not imagine life without coffee, it just goes with those precious times with my Savior.”

Hope you had a great morning, and I have included the recipe for the muffins because, yes, they were that good!!

sv500040

Apple Bran Muffins

3/4 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup wheat bran

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 & 1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce

2 Tbsp. molasses

1/4 cup nonfat plain yogurt

1/4 cup water

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3 Tbsp. honey

1 medium or large apple (cored & diced, I left the peel on)

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees. Spray 10 muffin cups with cooking spray. Mix all of the dry ingredients from flour through to the cinnamon in a small bowl, set aside.

Whisk the wet ingredients together from applesauce through to the honey in another bowl.

Dice the apples and mix in with the dry mixture. Add the dry mixture to the wet and mix together with a wooden spoon until just combined. Spoon into the muffin tins and bake about 18-20 minutes.

Cool the muffins in the tins for a few minutes, and then place on a cooling rack for about 10 minutes. Enjoy!

Author: Liesl Hypki

We are a young couple living in remote Mexico to reach the Nahuatl people for Christ.

3 thoughts on “A lazy Saturday morning

  1. What a lovely morning! I loved your friend’s comment about coffee at the end. I totally agree 🙂 And those muffins do look yummy. I’ll have to try them w/ rice flour and see how they turn out. Enjoy the rest of this delightfully sunny but deceptively freezing Saturday!

  2. this was cute…! 🙂 coffee is so wonderful and so is Jesus! 🙂 AND healthy muffins of course… hope you and pete are doing great… ttyl!

  3. Great recipe! Gonna try it very soon! Keep sharing! Summer of TRi’s are just around the corner!

Leave a Reply

